October 11, 2017

Faculty Senate Minutes
October 11, 2017 (Approved)
Chair, Kevin Hall
Secretary, Linda Jones

Attendance ( A-absent; otherwise, present)

Faculty Senate Officers and Senators

OFFICERS  Kevin Hall
 Kathleen Lehman
 Fran Hagstrom
 Tom Jensen
 Robert Brady  Linda Jones  John Pijanowski (A)
School of Architecture  Frank Jacobus (A)        
School of Law  Uche Ewelukwa Ofodile (A)        
Library  Stephanie Pierce (A)        
Walton College  Rajiv Sabherwal (A)  TBD (A)  TBD (A)  TBD (A)  
College of Engineering  Paneer Selvam (A)  Manuel Rossetti (A)  Justin Chimka  Kevin Hall  
Bumpers College  Ioannis E. Tzanetakis  Kate Shoulders (A)  Bruce Ahrendsen  Navam Hettiarachchy  Don Edgar
College of EDHP  Chris Goering  Kaitlin Gallagher  Kristin Higgins (A)  Stephanie Lusk  Lisa Bowers (A)
Fulbright College  Anna Zajicek (A)
 Hope Christiansen (A)
 Myria Allen (A)
 William Quinn
 James Gigantino
 Fred Spiegel (A)
 Ravi Barabote (A)
 Calvin White 
 Weston Wilkerson (A)
 Shauna Morimoto (A)
 Dennis Brewer
 Denise Beike (A)
 Suresh Kumar Thallapuranam (A)
 Stephen Caldwell
 James Lampinen
 Matt McIntosh (A)
 Kathy Comfort (A)
 Michael Landman (A)
At-Large Members  Cheryl Murphy
 Luti Salisbury
 Tom Jensen
 Kelly Hammond
 Deborah Korth
 Karen Sebold 
 David Gay
 Michelle Gray (A)
 Norm Dennis (A)
 Neil Allison
 Timothy Kral
 Don Johnson
Non-Voting Senators in Administration        
Joe Steinmetz (A)
Kathy Van Laningham
Kim Needy
Lynda Coon
 Jim Coleman (A)
 Don Judges
 Matthew Waller (A)
 Melissa Harwood Rom (A)
 Ro DiBrezzo (A)
 Charles Robinson (A)
 Michael Miller
 Julie Cromer
 Jim Rankin (A)
 Lona Robertson
 John English (A)
 John Fagg
 Terry Martin
 Peter MacKeith (A)
 Stacey Leeds
 Suzanne McCray (A)
 Todd Shields (A)
 Carolyn Henderson Allen (A)

I.  Call to Order - Kevin Hall 

The meeting was called to order at 3:30 p.m.

II. Roll Call

Roll called!

III. Approval of Agenda

Agenda approved

IV. Approval of Minutes of September 13, 2017

Minutes approved

V.  Reports

A. Provost's Report - No report given; the Provost is away in Rome.
B. Faculty Senate Chair - Kevin Hall

Agenda is light - but don't feel too secure about this!  Things coming up:

      • John Delery - a Chancellor's Fellow - He is to lead a panel to look at policies and procedures with regards non tenure track faculty.  Important work.  Have submitted some names of folks to serve from the Faculty Senate.  May see things come our way by the spring semester.
      • Looking at Promotion and Tenure policies and procedures.  Will deliver a charge to the P&T committee to take a comprehensive look at our APT policies on this campus, with a focus primarily on tenure and tenure track.   New software may be coming our way that can help with annual review, and potentially with tenure and promotion as well.
      • Also looking at the Teaching Council and their work on teaching evaluation.

VI.  Announcements

Just under 30,000 for the United Way Campaign.  Still hope to meet our goal.

The Fall meeting of the Campus Faculty will take place on Thursday, October 26th from 3:30 – 4:30pm in Giffels Auditorium.   Topic - Gun Law on Campus.

VII. Old Business

VIII. New Business

A.  Consent Agenda:  The following items are referred by the University Course and Programs Committee and/or the Graduate Council for review and action by the Faculty Senate at its meeting scheduled October 11, 2017:

1.   Course Change proposals – including graduate classes approved by theUniversity Course and Programs Committee on August 4, 2017 as well as undergraduate classes on September 22, 2017 and the Graduate Council on August 17, 2017:  (PDF Report).

2.  Informational items –

     a.    Applied Sustainability Center – deletion (2a_APPL SUST Ctr – Admin Unit Deletion –Ltr of Notification2a_Applied Sustainability – Closing Document).

     b.    RFID Research Center – deletion (2b_RFID Res Ctr – Admin Unit Deletion – Ltr of Notification2b_RFID Center Closing Letter). 

IX. Adjourn

3:48 adjournment