## Resolution Requesting an Official Statement by the University of Arkansas Confirming Enactment of the Gullett-ASG Petition on Sexual Assault and Title IX Reform and Commending Student Leadership on this Issue

WHEREAS, the University of Arkansas policy on Sexual Harassment declares that "it is the policy of the University of Arkansas to prohibit sexual harassment of its students, faculty, and staff and to make every effort to eliminate sexual harassment in the University" (https://hr.uark.edu/working/handbook/3-general-employment-policies/3-6.php);

WHEREAS, a campus survey in 2017 documented that 15% of student respondents reported that they had experienced non-consensual sexual content after becoming students at the University of Arkansas, and 22.3% reported that they had experienced non-consensual sexual content before becoming students;

WHEREAS, in the February 7, 2021 official email to the campus, "Sexual Violence Harms Us All" the University placed primary responsibility for avoiding sexual assault on its potential survivors (especially women), and made no mention of consent;

WHEREAS, in April 2021 the University allegedly settled a court proceeding for \$20,000 with John Doe regarding the assault on Gillian Gullett (then a student) reported in 2017, without disclosing the settlement to Ms. Gullett;

WHEREAS, Associated Student Government Senator Sophie Hill collected testimonials from University of Arkansas students documenting the ongoing seriousness of this issue and failures in the Title IX office response, and submitted them to campus leadership on April 28, 2021;

WHEREAS, in response to the settlement with John Doe, Ms. Gullett submitted to the Chancellor of the University of Arkansas a petition, signed by then-ASG President Julia Nall and incoming ASG President Coleman Warren, requesting the following remedies in the handling of sexual assault at the University of Arkansas:

- 1) A \$20,001 donation to efforts supporting survivors,
- 2) Campus-wide implementation of the Callisto app,
- 3) More trauma-informed staff, selected in part by students, in the Title IX office,
- 4) University Perspectives and other freshman experience course curriculum on sexual violence.
- 5) Honoring the Title IX policy that states individuals involved have the right to know the status of an investigation at any time, and including subsequent lawsuits in the aforementioned policy. Nobody, ever again, should have to find out about a lawsuit implicating their Title IX case from a reporter instead of the University;

WHEREAS, the Chancellor's agreement to this petition has been alleged on social media and mainstream news outlets but not confirmed through an official statement to the University of Arkansas campus; and

WHEREAS, the silencing of survivors is a consistent and very damaging strategy in institutional responses to reports of sexual assault; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED, that the Faculty Senate calls on the University of Arkansas to issue a formal statement that includes four parts;

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the first part of the statement consist of remarks on the recent history and current state of sexual violence and Title IX response on our campus;

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the second part of the statement be a confirmation of the University's agreement with the Gullett-ASG petition and recognition of its importance in our campus context;

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the third part of the statement be a clear roadmap forward, including specific plans for implementation of the requests in the petition and concrete next steps in the strategy to address this issue; and,

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the fourth part of the statement express recognition and appreciation of the courage and leadership displayed by our current and former students Gillian Gullett, Julia Nall, Sophie Hill, and Sydney Golding, in order to counter a history of survivorblaming and silencing by highlighting the commitment of these students.

## **Sponsors:**

Hope Christiansen Kathy Comfort Dorothy Stephens

## **Co-Sponsors:**

Mindy Bradley Christian Goering Michael Pierce John Pijanowski Samantha Robinson Andrew Raich Bret Schulte Karen Sebold Kim Stauss John Walch Anna Zajicek