

**WHEREAS** pursuant to the Establishment Clause of the First Amendment to the United States Constitution, it is not the role of government or a public institution to establish a religion or mandate the exercise thereof; and

**WHEREAS** the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville campus supports a universal right to religious freedom; and

**WHEREAS** the University of Arkansas campus at Fayetteville is a pluralistic academic society of scholars inclusive of Agnostics, Atheists, Buddhists, Christians, Hindus, Jews, Muslims, Sikhs, persons practicing universal, ethnic, world, indigenous or geographical religions, and other non-religious persons who believe strongly in the separation of church and state; so

**THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED** that the Faculty Senate at the University of Arkansas strongly opposes Arkansas Act 573 that compels the display of the Ten Commandments in every public institution of higher education classroom in the state of Arkansas.

**FURTHERMORE**, the members of the Faculty Senate direct that this resolution shall be sent to the University of Arkansas Provost, Chancellor, System President, Board of Trustees, and Governor, upon its passing.

Sponsored by:

Dr. Stephen Caldwell, Associate Professor of Music