Teaching Council

The Teaching Council replaces the former Teaching and Faculty Support Center Advisory Committee and the Faculty Orientation Committee. The council absorbs the charge of the former Advisory Committee to serve as an advisory body for the Teaching and Faculty Support Center. Faculty orientation activities have become a responsibility of the Teaching and Faculty Support Center.
The Teaching Council devises policies and procedures to protect and improve the quality of teaching at the institution and serves as an advisory body for the Teaching and Faculty Support Center. Issues may be referred to the committee by the Chair of the Faculty, the Chair of the Faculty Senate, the President of the Associated Student Government, the Chair of the Campus Council, the Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, or the Chancellor. The Council reports to the Chair of the Faculty Senate and is advisory to the Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs.

The Teaching Council will be composed of nine members. Five members will be selected by the Teaching Academy. The remaining four members of the Teaching Council will be members of the faculty appointed by the Chair of the Faculty from nominations generated by the Committee on Committees. Members of the Teaching Council serve for three years and will not be eligible for immediate reappointment. The council will elect its own chairperson.

Name Term Dept. College Phone Email
Ed Clausen Fall 2014-Spring 2017 CHEG ENGR 5-5412 eclause@uark.edu
Phil Crandall Fall 2014-Spring 2017 FDSC AFLS 5-7686 crandal@uark.edu
Luti Salisbury Fall 2014-Spring 2017 LIBR MULN 5-8418 lsalisbu@uark.edu
Cheryl Murphy Fall 2015-Spring 2017 CIED EDHP 5-5111 cmurphy@uark.edu
Lorraine Brewer Fall 2015-Spring 2017 CHBC ARSC 5-3103 lobrewer@uark.edu
Jennifer Beasley Fall 2015-Spring 2018 BCSS EDHP 5-6195 jgbeasle@uark.edu
Tim Kral*** Fall 2015-Spring 2018 BISC ARSC 5-6338 tkral@uark.edu
Paul Cronan Fall 2015-Spring 2018 ISYS WCOB 5-6130 cronan@uark.edu
Jim Gigantino* Fall 2015-Spring 2018 HIST ARSC 5-7332 jgiganti@uark.edu
Mary Savin Ex-Officio TFSC CSES AFLS 5-5740 msavin@uark.edu
Lorraine Brewer Ex-Officio TFSC CHBC ARSC 5-3103 lobrewer@uark.edu
Jack Kern Ex-Officio TFSC HHPR EDHP 5-4098 jkern@uark.edu
***Appointed by the Teaching Academy      
Last Update: Saturday October 15, 2016 5:50 AM