English as a Second Language Committee
 

Establishes policies for testing of English as a second language and the University's English as a Second Language Program (EASL). Responsible for creating, administering, and grading the English Language Placement Test (ELPT), as well as for making placement recommendations for international students based on ELPT results. Functions as an advisory committee to the Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs concerning the training of international graduate teaching assistants and the University's relationship with the Spring International Language Center of Fayetteville, AR.

Membership consists of one faculty representative from each undergraduate college and school (six), with the dean of the graduate school or his designee representing the Graduate School; the chairperson of the Department of World Languages or his or her designee; the chairperson of the Department of English or his or her designee; one student who is a non-native speaker; and the directors of the following offices: International Admissions, International Programs, and Testing Services. The director of the Spring International program on campus will not serve as a member of the committee but may routinely be invited to attend meetings to provide the committee with information.

Name Term Dept. College Phone Email
           
Alias Dominguez-Barajá Fall 2016-Spring 2019 ENGL ARSC 5-4301 elidoba@uark.edu
Han-Seok Seo Fall 2016-Spring 2019 FDSC AFLS 5-4778 hanseok@uark.edu
Reina Ruiz Fall 2016-Spring 2019 WLLC ARSC 5-2951 rruiz@uark.edu
Song Yang Fall 2016-Spring 2019 SOCI ARSC 5-2748 yangwang@uark.edu
Kimball Erdman Fall 2014-Spring 2017 ARCH ARCH 5-6779 kerdman@uark.edu
Juan Carlos Balda Fall 2014-Spring 2017 ELEG ENGR 5-6578 jbalda@uark.edu
Steven W. Kopp Fall 2015-Spring 2018 MKTT WCOB 5-3228 skopp@uark.edu
Freddie Bowles Fall 2015-Spring 2018 CIED EDHP 5-3035 fbowles@uark.edu
           
Pat Koski Graduate School     5-4401 pkoski@uark.edu
Lynn Mosesso International Admissions     5-6247 mosesso@uark.edu
Michael Freeman International Programs     5-5003 mfreeman@uark.edu
Yassaman Mirdamadi Testing Services     5-3948 ymirdam@uark.edu
TBA Student (non-native speaker)        
           
*Chair          
Last Update: Friday, October 14, 2016 12:35 PM