English as a Second Language Committee
 

Establishes policies for testing of English as a second language and the University's English as a Second Language Program (EASL). Responsible for creating, administering, and grading the English Language Placement Test (ELPT), as well as for making placement recommendations for international students based on ELPT results. Functions as an advisory committee to the Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs concerning the training of international graduate teaching assistants and the University's relationship with the Spring International Language Center of Fayetteville, AR.

Membership consists of one faculty representative from each undergraduate college and school (six), with the dean of the graduate school or his designee representing the Graduate School; the chairperson of the Department of World Languages or his or her designee; the chairperson of the Department of English or his or her designee; one student who is a non-native speaker; and the directors of the following offices: International Admissions, International Programs, and Testing Services. The director of the Spring International program on campus will not serve as a member of the committee but may routinely be invited to attend meetings to provide the committee with information.

  Name Dept. College Email Address Phone Term
(Fall - Spring)
  Steven W. Kopp   WCOB skopp@uark.edu     2015-18
  Kimball Erdman ARCH ARCH kerdman@uark.edu WALK 316 56779 2014-17
  Freddie A. Bowles CIED EDHP fbowles@uark.edu     2015-18
  Juan Carlos Balda ELEG ENGR jbalda@uark.edu BELL 3171 56578 2014-17
  Jim Correll PLPA AFLS jcorrell@uark.edu PTSC 217 52710 2013-16
  Reina Ruiz WLLC ARSC rruiz@uark.edu KIMP 425 56590 2013-16
  Pat Koski Graduate School GRAD pkoski@uark.edu OZAR119 54401  
  Song Yang

 

SOCI

ARSC yangwang@uark.edu MAIN 223 52748 2013-16
  Elias Dominguez Baraja* ENGL ARSC elidoba@uark.edu KIMP 328 54301 2011-14
 

TBA

Student (non-native speaker)         2015-16
  Lynn Mosesso Director, International Admissions GRAD mosesso@uark.edu OZAR119 56247  
  Michael Freeman Director, International Programs SADE mfreeman@uark.edu HOLC104 55003  
  Yassaman Mirdamadi Director, Testing Services VPRS ymirdam@uark.edu HOTZ700 53948  
               
  *Chair            
               
  Last Update: Wednesday, August 19, 2015 9:30 AM