Minutes of the Faculty Senate Meeting
August 31, 2011, 3:30 p.m.
ENGR 209

David Gay, Chair
Linda Jones, Secretary
Minutes Status: Approved

Roll Call


Officers: Gay, Freund, L. Jones, Brady, Kral

Senators (elected): (ARCH); (ALFS) Rom, Savin; (ARSC) Kral, Comfort, Harrington, Parry, Landman, Christiansen, Shobe, Grob-Fitzgibbon, Arenberg, Rhoads, Van Brahana, Stites; (WCOB) Bouwman, Ellstrand, Myers; (EDHP) Murphy, Orr, Deggs, Smith-Nix; (ENGR) Deaton, Beitle, Rossetti; (LAW) Brummer; (LIBR) Lehman; (At-Large) Johnson, Fort, Parker Gibson, Rupe, Dennis, Jensen, Jones, Martin, Allison, Salisbury.

Senators (admin): Smith, J. Rankin, Shields, Leeds, Henderson Allen, Lewis.

Absent: C. Jones


Senators (elected): (ARCH) Wall; (AFLS) Burgos, Ahrendsen, Costello; (ARSC) Freund, Nolan; (WCOB); (EDHP); (ENGR) Hall; (LAW); (LIBR); (At-Large) Whayne, Margulis.

Senators (admin): Gearhart, Gaber, Vayda, Shannon, Roberts, Worrell, P. Rankin, Saxena, McMath.


I. Call to Order: David Gay, Chair

The meeting was called to order at 3:30.

II. Roll Call

Roll was called.

III. Approval of Agenda

The agenda was approved to be organized at the pleasure of the Chair.

IV. Approval of minutes from May 11, 2011.


The minutes were approved.

V. Reports

A. Provost Sharon Gaber - Interim Vice Provost Ro DiBrezzo presented the Provost's report today. VP DiBrezzo reported on the following:

B. Jeff Long, Athletic Director- Annual Report: http://www.arkansasrazorbacks.com/ViewArticle.dbml?DB_OEM_ID=6100&ATCLID=205240148

VI. Old Business


VII. New Business

a. Elections (Campus Council, Executive Committee)

The following were elected to the Executive Committee:Janine Parry, Cheryl Murphy, Tom Jensen, Inza Fort, Joel Freund.

The following were elected to the Campus Council: Janine Parry, Luti Salisbury, Terry Martin, Tim Kral, Inza Fort, Norm Dennis, Curt Rom, Joel Freund, Betsy Orr, Doug Rhoads, Mary Savin, Jeannie Whayne, Don Johnson, Wesley Stites, Angie Smith-Nix, Chauncey Brummer.

Members of the "teller committee" included Linda Jones, Hope Christiansen, Michael Landman, Necia Paker-Gibson and Curt Rom.

Gay asked for interested persons wanting to be considered for Vice Chair of the Faculty Senate in elections at our next meeting to please contact him.  For additional details about the duties please also visit with our former Vice Chairs – Joel Freund, Tom Jensen, John Rupe or Luti Salisbury.

b. Honorary Degrees

The Senate moved into Excecutive Session to consider Honorary Degrees as presented by Steve Sheppard.

VIII. Announcements

IX. Adjourn