Minutes of the Faculty Senate Meeting
October 8, 2008, 3:30 p.m.
ENGR 209

Inza Fort, Chair
Linda Jones, Secretary
Minutes Status: Approved

Roll Call:


Officers: Fort, Freund, Jones, Brady, Allison, Rupe

Senators (elected):  (ARCH) Wall; (ALFS) Miller; (ARSC) Turner, DeCoster, Yang, Spiegel, Freund, Brady, Kral, Rhoads; (WCOB) Bouwman, Ellstrand; (EDHP) Di Brezzo, Hagstrom; (ENGR) Deaton, Heymsfield, Hall; (LAW) Killenbeck; (LIBR) Zou; (At-Large) Curington, Goodstein, James, Gay, Murphy, Riggs, Turner, Martin, T. Jensen.

Senators (admin): Gearhart, Schwab, Greenwood, Saxena, Geren, Nancy, Lewis.



Senators (elected): (ARCH); (AFLS) Evans, Rosenkrans; (ARSC) Behrend, Comfort, Parry, Scheide, Van Brahana; (WCOB) Hardgrave; (EDHP); Smith, Stegman; (ENGR); (LIBR); (At-Large) M. Jensen, Robinson, Starks, Salisbury.

Senators (admin):  McMath, Verma, Shannon, Worrell, Beene Ballard, Henderson Allen, McCray.

I. Call to Order: Inza Fort, Chair

The meeting was called to order at 3:31.

II. Roll Call

The roll was called.

III. Approval of Agenda

The agenda was approved.

IV. Approval of minutes from September 17, 2008.

Minutes of September 17, 2008

The minutes were approved.

V. Reports

A. Chancellor's Report - Chancellor Gearhart reported the following:

B. Chair's Report - The Chair reported from the following Attached Report
C. Athletic Committee Report - Tim DeNoble reported from the following Attached Report

VI. Old Business

A. Code of Student Life

Student Code
Supporting Document

Motion to approve made and seconded.

Motion to refer to Committee on Committees made and seconded. Motion passed to refer to Committee on Committees.

VII. New Business

A. Consent Agenda

1. Proposed change in Board of Trustees Policy 405.4(2) (C) for graduate assistants was approved by the Graduate Council on May 15, 2008. Proposal allows for immediate termination instead of 60 days notice in some cases. See Attachment Four for additional details. Proposal was approved without opposition by the Graduate Council on August 21, 2008.

2. Proposed change in two of the graduate school's polices: "The Academic Grievance Procedures for Graduate Students," Attachment Five, and the "Grievance Policy and Procedures for Graduate Assistants," Attachment Six. An editorial update is also included in Attachment Five to change the name of the Office of Student Mediation and Conflict Resolution to the University Ombuds Office. See Attachment Five and Attachment Six for additional details. Proposal was approved without opposition by the Graduate Council on August 21, 2008.


B. Athletic Director Membership

B. Membership

3. The Chancellor, Vice-Chancellor for Academic Affairs, the dean of each college or school (including the Graduate School and Continuing Education), the dean (or director) of University libraries, and the executive athletic director of intercollegiate athletics, shall be non-voting members of the Faculty Senate. This provision does not preclude any dean or director from election as a voting representative pursuant to paragraphs 4-8 below.

Bev Lewis, Executive Athletic Director, will now be the representative of the Athletic Department to the Faculty Senate.

VIII. Announcements


IX. Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 4:26.