Minutes of the Faculty Senate Meeting
September 14 , 2005, 3:30 p.m.
ENGR 209

Deborah Thomas , Chair
Linda Jones, Secretary
Minutes Status: Approved


Officers: Thomas, Brady, Jones

Senators (elected): Allison, Cantrell, Comfort, Curington, Deaton, Di Brezzo, Elliott, Evans, Freund, Gay, Gbur, Gordon, Hall, Hanlin, James, Killenbeck, King, Kral, Martin, Mayes, Murphy, Parry, Reese, Riemenschneider, Riha, Rom, Rupe, Salisbury, Stegman, Watkins

Senators (admin): Brill, Geren, McMath, Smith, Worrell



Senators (elected): DeCoster, Dennis, Hardgrave, Miller, Popp, Rosenkrans, Tsai, Wailes, Waller

Senators (admin): Allen, Bobbitt, Broyles, Dutton, Greenwood, Lewis, Saxena, Shannon, Weidemann, White

I. Call to Order: Deborah Thomas, Chair

The meeting was called to order at 3:32 p.m.

II. Approval of agenda

It was moved and seconded to approve the agenda. Motion passed.

III. Approval of minutes (April and May):

April 20, 2005 - http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2004to2005/fsminutes42005.html
May, 2005 - http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2004to2005/fsminutes50405.html

The minutes of the previous two meetings were approved.

IV. Reports

A. Provost - The Provost reported on the following:

B. Faculty Senate Chair - The Chair reported on the following:

C. Report from Collis Geren and Phillip Stafford about the U of A Technology Development Foundation.

See handout

D. Academic Standards Committee (Grade Forgiveness Policy) – Dr. Mike Evans (removed from April 20, 2005 Faculty Senate Meeting Agenda)

Current policy on page 40 of the 2004-2005 catalog states “…in which a grade of D or F was received…”

Email Michael Evans for a copy of his report

The Academic Standards Commiee does not support resolution 7 and recommends that the grade forgiveness policy not be amended to allow grades above a D to be eligible for grade forgiveness.

V. Old Business

A. Tabled--Attendance Policy revision - Joel Freund http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2004to2005/attendance42005.pdf

– motion made to accept the proposal as presented in the pdf from April and also included in this agenda.  Discussion took place…  Motion failed.

VI. New Business

A. Elections of Senate Representatives to the Campus Council (election of Executive Committee members will be held at the next Senate meeting on Wednesday, October 19)

The following were elected to the Campus Council:

Charles Rosenkrans, Michael Evans, Neil Allison, Janine Parry, John King, Todd Hanlin, Joel Freund, Susan Mayes, Ro Di Brezzo, Cheryl Murphy, Norm Dennis, Andrea Cantrell, Timothy Kral, William Curington, Luti Salisbury, Curt Rom

B. Consent Agenda

1. Undergraduate course change proposals approved by the University Course and Programs Committee on August 26, 2005:  Table A.

Table A: http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2005to2006/tablea091405.pdf

2. Proposed program change, Department of Journalism, Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences: Table 1 (Attachment 1A).  Approved by the University Course and Programs Committee on August 26, 2005.

Tables 1-4: http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2005to2006/tables1to491405.pdf
Attach 1A: http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2005to2006/attach1a91405.pdf

3. Proposed new undergraduate minor in Crop Biotechnology, Department of Crop, Soil and Environmental Sciences, Bumpers College of Agricultural, Food and Life Sciences:  Table 2 (Attachments 2A, 2B).  Approved by the University Course and Programs Committee on August 26, 2005.

Tables 1-4, See Above

Attach 2A: http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2005to2006/attach2a91405.pdf
Attach 2B: http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2005to2006/attach2b91405.pdf

4. Proposed program changes for the College of Education and Health Professions:  Table 3 (Attachments 3A-3L).  Approved by the University Course and Programs Committee on August 26, 2005.

Tables 1-4, See Above

Attach 3A: http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2005to2006/attach3a91405.pdf
Attach 3B: http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2005to2006/attach3b91405.pdf
Attach 3C: http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2005to2006/attach3c91405.pdf
Attach 3D: http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2005to2006/attach3d91405.pdf
Attach 3E: http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2005to2006/attach3e91405.pdf
Attach 3F: http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2005to2006/attach3f91405.pdf
Attach 3G: http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2005to2006/attach3g91405.pdf
Attach 3H: http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2005to2006/attach3h91405.pdf
Attach 3I: http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2005to2006/attach3i91405.pdf
Attach 3J: http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2005to2006/attach3j91405.pdf
Attach 3K: http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2005to2006/attach3k91405.pdf
Attach 3L: http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2005to2006/attach3l91405.pdf

5. Proposed changes in graduate programs: Table 4 (Attachments 4A-4E).  Approved by the Graduate Council on May 26 and August 18, 2005.   

Tables 1-4, See Above

Attach 4A: http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2005to2006/attach4a91405.pdf
Attach 4B: http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2005to2006/attach4b91405.pdf
Attach 4C: http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2005to2006/attach4c91405.pdf
Attach 4D: http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2005to2006/attach4d91405.pdf
Attach 4E: http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2005to2006/attach4e91405.pdf

6. Proposed policy change for incorporating the new internet-based TOEFL test into our admissions requirements (Attachment 5).

Attach 5: http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2005to2006/attach591405.pdf

Attachments 1a and 4a were removed from the consent agenda for further discussion. All other consent agenda items were approved. After discussion, Attachments 1a and 4a were also approved.

VII. Announcements

1. Resolution for Professor Charles Oxford - http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen2005to2006/oxford.doc

Curt Rom presented a resolution in honor of Charles W. Oxford. The motion to accept passed.

2. Resolution for Dean Richard Atkinson - http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen2005to2006/atkinson.pdf

Mark Killenbeck presented a resolution in honor of Richard Atkinson. The motion to accept passed.

3. Fall Campus Council is scheduled to take place October 19th. The deadline for agenda items is October 12th.

VIII. Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 4:55 p.m.