Minutes of the Faculty Senate Meeting
October 19, 2005, 3:30 p.m.
ENGR 209

Deborah Thomas , Chair
Linda Jones, Secretary
Minutes Status: Approved


Officers: Thomas, Brady, Jones, Fort

Senators (elected): Allison, Cantrell, Comfort, Curington, Deaton, Dennis, Di Brezzo, Gay, Gbur, Gordon, Hanlin, Hardgrave, James, Jensen, Johnson, King, Kral, Lieber, Martin, Mayes, Murphy, Reese, Riemenschneider, Rosenkrans, Schroeder, Sears, Stegman, Wailes, Waller, Watkins

Senators (admin): Geren, McMath



Senators (elected): DeCoster, Evans, Freund, Hall, Killenbeck, Miller, Parry, Popp, Riha, Rom, Rupe, Salisbury, Tsai, Williams

Senators (admin): Allen, Bobbitt, Brill, Broyles, Dutton, Greenwood, Lewis, Saxena, Shannon, Smith, Weidemann, White, Worrell

I. Call to Order: Deborah Thomas, Chair

The Chair called the meeting to order at 3:30.

II. Approval of agenda

Due to the absence of Provost Smith, the Provost's Report was removed from the agenda for today's meeting. The amended agenda was approved.

III. Approval of minutes (September):

September 14, 2005 - http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2005to2006/minutes91405.html

The minutes of September 14, 2005 were approved.

IV. Reports

A.   Faculty Senate Chair

The Faculty Senate Chair shared with the senators the various activities and meetings she has attended in the last several weeks. Please let the Chair know if there are items you wished to have conveyed to the Chancellor.

Inza Fort is the new parlimentarian of the Faculty Senate.

Campus Council members from the Faculty Senate were announced and were asked to stay after the meeting to prepare for next week’s meeting of the Campus Council.

The Task Force to review campus governance has begun to work on election issues.  Michael Miller is the chair of this committee.

B.   Nominations and Elections Committee:  Elections of At-Large Senators, Chair and Vice-Chair of Campus Faculty - Mark Boyer, Committee Chair  

Professor Mark Boyer announced the names of the at large members of the Faculty Senate: Professors Gay, Williams, Sears, Jensen, Lieber, Schroeder, and Johnson.  The following were elected to the APT Committee: Professors Detels, Goodstein, Reid, and Dennis. Professor Charles Riggs was elected Chair of the Faculty and Professor Larry Foley, Vice Chair.

Professor Boyer asked that all please start working now to encourage people to run for committee and faculty governance positions next Spring!!!

V. Old Business

VI. New Business

A.   A Motion from the Senate Executive Committee for a Permanent Selection Method for the Representative to the Coalition for Intercollegiate Athletics:

Beginning in 2005-2006, the Chair of the Faculty Senate will appoint a current or former Senator as the University of Arkansas’ representative to the Coalition for Intercollegiate Athletics for a three-year term.  The Faculty Senate Chair (or his or her designee) will serve as the alternate.

Motion approved.

B.   Election of Six (6) Faculty Senate Executive (Agenda) Committee members

The following Senators were elected to the Faculty Senate Executive Committee - Professors Murphy, Kral, Watkins, King, Wiliams, and Gay.

C.   Proposed policy change for terminating graduate assistants (Attachment 6).  Approved by the Graduate Council on July 21, 2005 and recommended to the Faculty Senate for approval.

Attachment 6 - http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2005to2006/attach6101905.pdf


D.  Consent Agenda

1.   Graduate and Dual Credit course change proposals approved by the University Course and Programs Committee on August 26, 2005, and the Graduate Council on September 15, 2005 and recommended to the Faculty Senate for approval:  Tables A, B, C.

Table A - http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2005to2006/tablea101905.pdf

Table B - http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2005to2006/tableb101905.pdf

Table C - http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2005to2006/tablec101905.pdf

2.   Proposed program changes for the B.S./B.A. degree in Transportation and Logistics, Department of Marketing and Logistics, Walton College of Business (Attachment 1). Approved by the University Course and Programs Committee on May 27, 2005 and recommended to the Faculty Senate for approval:

Attachment 1 - http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2005to2006/attach1101905.pdf

3.   Proposal to change the admissions requirements for the M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Poultry Science, Department of Poultry Science, Bumpers College of Agricultural, Food and Life Sciences (Attachments 2 and 3).  Approved by the Graduate Council on September 15, 2005 and recommended to the Faculty Senate for approval.

Attachment 2 - http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2005to2006/attach2101905.pdf

Attachment 3 - http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2005to2006/attach3101905.pdf

A request was made to amend the Marketing and Logistics proposal to state BA and BS degrees. The amended consent agenda was approved.                   

VII. Announcements

A.   Letter of notification for web-based delivery of the Gerontology graduate certificate program (Attachments 4 and 5).  Announced to the Graduate Council on September 15, 2005 and submitted to the Faculty Senate as an information item.

Attachment 4 - http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2005to2006/attach4101905.pdf

Attachment 5 - http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2005to2006/attach5101905.pdf

VIII. Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 4:03.