Minutes of the Faculty Senate Meeting

October 16, 2002, 3:30 p.m.

Engineering 209

Dennis Brewer, Chair

Linda Jones, Secretary

Minutes Status: Approved


Officers: Brewer, Jensen, Jones, Rogers

Senators (elected): Allison, Amason, Chappell, Dennis, Etges, Fort, Freund, Gay, Hall, Hanlin, Johnson, Killenback, King, Kral, Lieber, MacRae, Martin, Murphy, Nutter, Park, Riggs, Rom, Ryan, Salisbury, Schroeder, Striffler, P. Taylor, Wailes, Wall, Wardlow, Warnock, Watkins, Wilson

Senators (Admin): Geren


Senators (elected): Brady, Curington, Denny, Holyfield, Lee, Miller, Riha, Rosenkrans, Rupe, Schmitt, Springer, M. Taylor

Senators (Admin): Allen, Bobbitt, Dutton, Greenwood, Moberly, Schmitt, Shannon, Smith, Weidemann, White, Williams

I. Call to Order:

Dennis Brewer called the meeting to order at 3:32.

II. Approval of the Agenda

Without objection the agenda was approved.

III. Minutes of the September 18, 2002 Meeting

Without objection, the minutes of September 18, 2002 were approved.

IV. Reports

Reports were given by Graham Gillis, Associate Vice President for Benefit and Risk Management Services, University of Arkansas System, and Arlene Cash, Dean of Enrollment Services.

A. Fringe Benefits & Long-term Care Insurance – Graham Gillis

Report Highlights prepared by Dr. Gillis (See on-line October 16th agenda and minutes for his report).

In addition to his report, Dr. Gillis also mentioned that his office is monitoring our costs for benefits as compared to other institutions in the SEC and within our region. They have sent out a survey and are compiling data on how our costs rate in comparision to such schools as Georgia, LSU, Missouri, UCA, ASU, and Texas A & M. This survey will be posted to the Faculty Senate website when completed.

B. Enrollment report – Arlene Cash (See on-line October 16th agenda and minutes for her reports).

V. Old Business


VI. New Business

A. Consent Agenda-

The following items were presented by the Graduate Council for approval. (See on-line October 16th agenda and minutes for the individual items).

    1. Approved by the Graduate Council: Program proposal: Master of Arts in Ethnomusicology (approved on 09/19/02)
    2. Approved by the Graduate Council: Policy proposal: Proposed Grievance Policy for Graduate Assistants (approved on 09/19/02)

The consent agenda was adopted by unanimous consent.

B. Resolution: Naming of Teaching & Faculty Support Center – Norm Dennis, Teaching Council

Norm Dennis presented the following resolution for adoption. (An editorial change was made in the the first sentence of the resolution with no objection from the floor.)


WHEREAS, University Professor A. Wallace Cordes has devoted over 42 years of service to the students of the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville through stimulating and innovative teaching, while simultaneously maintaining a successful research program.

WHEREAS, Professor Cordes has received recognition for his teaching excellence at the university, state and national levels over a span of many years.

WHEREAS, Professor Cordes has been the recipient of the J. William Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences Master Teacher Award, the Alumni Association Faculty Award for Teaching and Research, the Burlington Award for Teaching, the Arkansas Professor of the Year Award from the National Council for Advancement and Support of Education, and the Award for Innovative Excellence in Teaching, Learning and Technology from the National Center for Teaching and Learning.

WHEREAS, Professor Cordes was instrumental in the formation of the University of Arkansas Teaching and Faculty Support Center in 1992, serving as an inaugural Co-Director.

WHEREAS, Professor Cordes has continued to be active in the programs of the Teaching and Faculty Support Center, returning to serve a second term as Co-Director in 2000.

WHEREAS, this resolution has the fullest support of the University Teaching Council, the University Teaching Academy, and the Co-Directors of the Teaching and Faculty Support Center.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE FACULTY SENATE OF THE UNIVERSITY OF ARKANSAS, FAYETTEVILLE THAT the Teaching and Faculty Support Center at the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville be designated, in perpetuity, as the "Wally Cordes Teaching and Faculty Support Center."

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT this resolution be forwarded to Chancellor John A.White, President B. Alan Sugg, and the Board of Trustees of the University of Arkansas for their approval and ratification.

It was moved to delete the phrase ", Fayetteville" from the resolution. This motion died for lack of a second.

It was noted in the discussion that the intent of the resolution is to add Professor Cordes' name to the organization now known as the "Teaching and Faculty Support Center" and does not preclude modifying the name of the Center as long as it continues to be named after Professor Cordes.

A motion for adoption was made by Dale Johnson and was seconded by Neil Allison. The resolution was unanimously adopted.

VII. Announcements

Dub Ashton and Dan Overste announced that the first lecture of the Distinguished Lecture Series occurs on October 24th at 8 p.m. in Barnhill Arena. The distinguished lecturers are Ehud Barak and Benazir Bhutto. This lecture is free to everyone and tickets are available at the desk in the Union.

Curt Rom announced that the fall Campus Faculty meeting will take place on Thursday, November 14th at 4 p.m., location to be announced. Two reports will be given at this meeting - a report on the Status of the Capital Campaign by David Gearhart and a report, by Provost Smith, on the Impact of the Walton gift to the University.

Curt Rom also announced that the Holiday Faculty Celebration will take place on Thursday, December 12th at the Radisson. The time will be announced at a later date and all faculty will receive an invitation in the mail.

Dennis Brewer spoke in remembrance of John Ewbank, Professor of Chemistry, who died unexpectedly on October 13, 2002 at the age of 54. Professor Ewbank was a pioneer in the field of gas electron diffraction, a caring and conscientious teacher, and proud and loving father. His children, Jennifer and John, are students at the University of Arkansas.

VIII. Adjourn

The meeting was precisely adjourned at 4:58 p.m.!